Adults Highlights

Gothic Fiction Recommendations

January 25, 2023

Mexican Gothic / Silvia Moreno-GarciaAfter receiving a frantic letter from her newly-wed cousin begging for someone to save her from a mysterious doom, Noemi Taboada heads to High Place, a distant house in the Mexican countryside. She’s not sure what she will find–her cousin’s husband, a handsome Englishman, is a stranger, and Noemi knows little about the […]

Read More

Readalikes for The Murderbot Diaries

January 25, 2023

A closed and common orbit / Becky ChambersLovelace was once merely a ships artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in a new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who is determined […]

Read More

Pride and Prejudice Retellings

January 24, 2023

There is no better time than the depths of winter to watch (or re-watch) the 5-hour BBC adaptation of Jane Austen’s novel Pride and Prejudice. But did you know that there are also approximately a billion book adaptations, spinoffs, and retellings of the same story? In most cases knowledge of the original is unnecessary for […]

Read More

Robbins Library 2023 Book Challenge

January 3, 2023

Looking for a good challenge to keep you reading through 2023? We’ve got you covered! For more 2023 book challenges, check the The 2023 Master List of Reading Challenges by girlxoxo.

Read More

There’s always hope

December 22, 2022

The holiday season can be tough for anyone.The days are cold and dark, expenses can pile up, and not everyone has the luxury to visit loved ones. If you or someone you know is struggling, please reach out for help! Here are a couple of resources to get you started. The Massachusetts Substance Use HelplineThe […]

Read More

Staff’s Best Books of 2022

December 22, 2022

If you’re a book lover like we assume you are, we know you love best books lists. As 2022 reaches its end, everyone is sharing what titles left a memorable impression. Here’s a compilation of staff favorites and published lists to make the holiday season a bit less stressful! Susan B. Stephanie Pam Stephen T. […]

Read More

Happy 130th Birthday Robbins Library!

November 29, 2022

130 years ago on November 29, 1892, Robbins Library was dedicated and opened for the use of the town of Arlington.  The town of Arlington had offering public library services since 1835, thanks to a gift from Dr. Ebenezer Learned to establish a Juvenile Library back when the town was called West Cambridge. The town […]

Read More

Fuel Assistance Resources

November 2, 2022

Concerned about how you’ll heat your home this winter as fuel costs continue to rise? You’re not alone. Fortunately, there are resources that can help. The state government has released its Fiscal Year 2023 Cold Relief brochure. It contains energy-saving tips like: and more! The brochure also contains the current Income Eligibility Chart. You can […]

Read More

Graphic Novels and Nonfiction by Hispanic and Latinx Creators

October 29, 2022

We’ve put together a list of some graphic novels and non fiction created by Hispanic and Latinx artists and authors. Not everyone who identifies as Hispanic identifies as Latinx and vice versa. Please read this post for more information about these identifiers. Fiction Nonfiction You can find more book lists created by staff on the […]

Read More

New Horror Fiction (2022)

October 14, 2022

‘Tis the season for spooky reads and we’ve got the latest in horror fiction for your TBR list! All the White Spaces by Ally WilkesSomething deadly and mysterious stalks the members of an isolated polar expedition in this haunting and spellbinding historical horror novel. In the wake of the First World War, Jonathan Morgan stows away on an Antarctic expedition, determined […]

Read More

Horror Graphic Novels

October 12, 2022

Looking for a graphic novel that is creepy, scary or spooky? These graphic novels cover everything from cosmic horror to domestic nightmares. There are demons, ghosts, serial killers, werewolves and zombies. There’s something for every horror fan! To find more great books go to our book recommendation page and browse book lists created by the […]

Read More

Indigenous People in Massachusetts: A Library Guide

October 6, 2022

Here at Robbins, we try our best to recognize the culture and history of indigenous peoples in the United States. Massachusetts is one of the first places where the complicated and controversial history between colonizers and Native Americans begins. Instead of seeing these events as part of a past that can be easily forgotten, we should all acknowledge the wrongs of our ancestors and continue advocating and learning about the tribes that exist now and those that came before us.

Read More