Menu
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Robbins Library QBG Reads… I Can’t Date Jesus

April 24 @ 7:00 pm - 8:30 pm

This month Queer Book Group will be discussing the autobiography I Can’t Date Jesus: Love, Sex, Family, Race, and Other Reasons I’ve Put My Faith In Beyoncé by Michael Arceneaux.

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul-searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity. It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux. Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is… well, have you watched the news? With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Can’t Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite. He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; that time his father asked if he was ‘funny’ while shaking his hand; his obstacles in embracing intimacy; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams. Perfect for fans of David Sedaris and Phoebe Robinson, I Can’t Date Jesus tells us–without apologies–what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world.

Copies of the book will be available at the circulation desk!

Queer Book Group / Social reads great LGBTQ-themed books, both fiction and non-fiction, and hosts LGBTQ-themed social events. New members are welcome!  Come make some new friends & expand your community!

Facebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmailFacebooktwittergoogle_plusredditpinterestlinkedinmail

Details

Date:
April 24
Time:
7:00 pm - 8:30 pm
Event Categories:
, ,

Venue

Robbins Library
700 Massachusetts Avenue
Arlington, MA 02476 United States
+ Google Map
Phone:
781/316/3200
Website:
https://www.robbinslibrary.org